What Cory Monteith Has Shown Me

Before I begin, let me start by saying I am extremely saddened and shocked over the passing of Cory Monteith. I extend my thoughts, love, and prayers to his family and close friends, and hope they each find strength in this time to overcome such an unreal tragedy. It’s really unfathomable and though it’s been a few days since he was found in his Vancouver hotel room, it becomes difficult each passing day to hear how his last few hours unraveled.

When I get emotional, I can’t exactly put into words how I’m feeling. I mean, even at this time I’m crying again. I’m literally at a loss for words. All I know and can feel is this giant lump in my throat and my chest aches. A lot of chests are aching right now. I’ve seen it first hand too. When news broke out this past weekend, I saw what it did to my friends. I saw it all around me and it really shattered my being. Watching them go through such an ordeal and continue to grieve has me heartbroken.

The most heartbreaking thing is not just that Cory was 31 years old or that he had a promising career ahead of him; or that he was one of the ‘good guys’ and he’s gone too soon, but that he felt he was alone in this great big world. He felt he couldn’t be the person he was expected to be and naturally felt despondent and alone because of his dark past. Sure in his last few hours he was alone, but in reality Cory was someone many cared about and loved. He was one many looked up to and he may have passed away and went unnoticed for a few hours before being found, but he has shown all of us that as long as you have a great big and welcoming heart, you never really die alone in this world. We each come into this life with so many eyes on us and if you’re lucky, you leave this world with so much more love than you can ever imagine and even begin to understand. He is and will always be surrounded by love in this world and the next.

Cory has left this life but has left a lot of love behind too. Think of how many people he brought together. Think of the fans bonding over him and creating friendships. Think of how important he has been in connecting one another through commonalities. He proves we aren’t alone and that we each create these everlasting ripples in each other’s lives. Whatever demons Cory was fighting is heartbreaking and sad, but he was brave to ever even open up and share with others his adversities. As he leaves this world and all of us who loved him, one thing is for sure: his presence and absence will always mean something to someone.

No matter the time, no matter the place, Cory will always be loved and he will always have people thinking about him.

RIP Cory Monteith
May 11, 1982 – July 13, 2013

Leave a Reply [All Invalid Email Addresses Get Marked as Spam]

