Garnier to the Rescue! Review of Fructis Damage Eraser

A few weeks ago I took part in an Influenster Twitter Party for Garnier Canada, in promotion for the new Damage Eraser line. It was fun getting to read what other Garnier enthusiasts had to say about the latest product from a company that continues to deliver. As part of the Twitter Party, Influenster asked some questions to fans and I was lucky enough to win an exclusive Garnier Fructis Damage Eraser VoxBox!

Garnier Fructis Damage Eraser VoxBox

I received the VoxBox just a few days ago and it literally felt like Christmas! I had a beautiful, happy moment with the VoxBox! It was adorable. But let’s get down to it. As someone who has used Garnier products since high school, I was incredibly excited to use the Fructis Damage Eraser set. This winter has been an extremely chilly one and because of it, it means there is way more risk for damaged hair. When the weather gets this cold, it leads to hair feeling straw-like, dry, and just pretty limp even if you blow dry or curl to lock in moisture. Have no fear though! Garnier Fructis comes to the rescue this season with their Damage Eraser line and I’m going to share some of my thoughts on the product with you.

I naturally have very thick, wavy hair which I’m always either straightening or curling—though most times, it’s just straightening. Did you know a third of women use hair straighteners? That’s a lot of potential for dry, damaged hair. Sure the shiny, blown-out straight hair is one of the most sought-after styles, but the truth is straightening your hair, like blow-drying, can weaken your hair’s cuticle which is that thin barrier that protects it from damage, breakage, and ensures moisture. All of the heat from styling products can snatch away the life and volume from your hair.

What’s this new line trying to prove? The L’Oreal owned product claims to reconstruct hair 90% from root to tip, help to prevent future damage and repair it from within; as well as reconstructing and preserving strength for strong hair that looks rejuvenated. Is it true? As a skeptic and someone who believes you can’t bring back to life dead hair if it’s damaged and got split-ends, I must say, I am impressed with this product. Upon using it for one week, I have noticed my hair feels a lot smoother, and doesn’t feel or look dry. It smells absolutely gorgeous too, and very much like a salon product like Redken or a CHI product. I can definitely say I trust that the promise of strengthening my hair and have it be 3X tougher.

Let’s break down the Damage Eraser line:

Damage Eraser Fortifying Shampoo & ConditionerShampoo: This shampoo has proven to protect hair from any future damage, creating a healthy shine with vitality and bounce. The formula consists of a Phyto-Keratin complex with plant-based proteins, active fruit concentrate, and cupuaçu butter; along with natural lipids that work in two ways to strengthen and rejuvenate hair. It’s an amazing scented shampoo too, unique in its own right and lathers quite nicely. I think it owes its scent to the cupuaçu butter which has a salon scent with a hint of ‘elegant’ pineapple…if that makes any sense.

Conditioner: After shampooing, it’s best to apply conditioner from the root to the tip, making sure to cover all the ends. With echoing the same promise of the shampoo, this conditioner will definitely benefit your dry and damaged hair, with an instant visible difference, creating smooth and silky hair. I dye my hair every month so I do understand how I tend to get it dry, but this helps a great deal. With using the shampoo and conditioner, the hair doesn’t feel heavy.

Strength Reconstructing Butter:  After shampooing (and conditioning), apply this pretty smelling and smooth butter to wet hair from root to tip (once a week). Leave it on for about three to five minutes, or count by an Adele song you karaoke to in the shower. It definitely helps pass the time! After using it, I can tell you that it’s a great product and stands-out. The results are immediate and unbelievable. I definitely saw an improvement in my hair with just one use! It was smooth, not at all brittle when wet, and not as knotty as before. I liked that it gave me a healthy, radiant shine without feeling heavy or limp.

Damage Eraser Split Ends Bandage SerumSplit-Ends Bandage Serum: This is a treatment that must be applied to towel-dried hair, with a focus on fragile or damaged areas. In other words, mid-section and tips are good to start with. I tried this after the shampoo, conditioner and butter regime and love how my hair looked after regular styling. It too smells heavenly, almost reminiscent of a John Frieda product. It left my hair feeling smooth and glossy without that sticky or slimy feeling, and definitely looked lush and radiant. Considering the amount of winter damage, it felt as if nothing had ever happened to my locks. I really loved this product and think this is a great staple to add to your hair-care regime.  It would be nice if Garnier Canada also introduced a Damage Eraser Heat Tamer spray of sorts to help lock in moisture and any added benefits from their regular formulas to coincide and partner up with the Bandage Serum.

Overall, my hair felt good. It’s usually sort of a fussy battle because I blow-dry, I straighten and I even curl it from time to time. But, my locks felt incredibly happy though. It looked healthy and shiny, not at all straw-like and held its own style without getting dry. My favorite part of any Fructis product? It’s not just the scent, but after just a week of usage, my hair feels tough. Literally. You can pull at a strand and see it bounce back like an elastic band. That’s the beauty of a Fructis product and their formulas. They are built to protect your hair from any harsh climate and who wouldn’t want something as reliable as that?

If you’re in need of some serious hair therapy from this arctic chill and polar vortex ridden climate, definitely add the Garnier Fructis Damage Eraser line to your haircare lineup. Your hair will thank you.

Have you tried Fructis Damage Eraser? What were your thoughts? What is your favorite Fructis product? Leave me a comment below.

* * * * *

I received this product complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. Thank you, very much Influenster! Follow them on their social networks at Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, InstagramGoogle+, and YouTube, for updates and how you can be part of the Influenster community!

Photography credit: Tania Hussain

One comment

Leave a Reply [All Invalid Email Addresses Get Marked as Spam]

