I’m a Hopeless Wanderer

Map Globe

I love to travel! The moment I saw this Daily Prompt asking to name the top five places I’d love to visit, I knew I had to share my dream travel destinations. I already get the chance to travel quite a bit—I’m a huge road tripper and got a chance to visit one of my dream destinations, Indianapolis for the first time in 2012. Ever since then, Indiana has been a second home to me and a place where I’ve visited more times than I can count. I can’t see any other place to settle down one day. That being said, I love quenching my wanderlust! Traveling has always been not just about the sights and people, but a powerful tool in fulfilling my true potential and understanding the person I want to be. Plus, who doesn’t want to visit some of the most beautiful places in the world?

Since I was born, I have never traveled overseas. I’ve only ever traveled within North America, driving about the Midwest, and Eastern and Western United States. There are plenty of places to still see in both the United States and Canada, but I would love to explore overseas and dive into another aspect of culture, arts, and history. Now I know the Daily Prompt asked for 5 of my dream destinations, but I’m going to give 6 in no particular order. Why six? Why not six? Six has been a magical number for me, so that’s basically it. Anyway, these are destinations I would love to set my sights on one fine day!

Paris, France

Paris France

Take me to Paris
Let’s go there and never look back

{Lana Del Rey, Paris}

South Carolina, USA

South Carolina

In my mind I’m going to Carolina,
Can’t you see the sunshine, can’t you just feel the moonshine?

{James Taylor, Carolina}

Moscow, Russia

Moscow Russia

I’ve seen places, faces, and smiled for a moment,
But oh, you haunted me so.

{Matt Monro, From Russia with Love}

Colorado, USA

Finding Tranquility

 The shadow from the starlight is softer than a lullabye
Rocky mountain high

{John Denver, Rocky Mountain High}

Ireland: Villages and Countrysides

Ireland Countryside Village

Keep walking down
In the wind and the rain, darling
You keep walking down when the sun shone through the trees

{Van Morrison, Cypress Avenue}

Santorini, Greece

Greece

And a red sun upon the seas to ride,
I stood upon the soil of Greece at last!

{Oscar Wilde, Greece}

{WordPress: Daily Prompt: The Wanderer - April 23, 2014}

Image Credits:
Paris, France – Bruno De Hogues/PhotoLibrary
South Carolina, USA – PhotoMoe Photography/Flickr
Moscow, Russia – Martin Child/PhotoLibrary
Colorado, USA – Sarah Morgan/MobileMoment
Ireland Village and Countryside – Trish Punch/Lonely Planet Images
Santorini, Greece – Lars Ruecker/Moment

What are some travel destinations you can’t wait to visit?

12 comments

  1. Colorado – I have been to CO several times: it really is quite an awesome state. I really love driving into Denver. I always come in from Nebraska [i’m driving from MN..], and it’s so breathtaking to come over the plains, slowly rising to the foothills – and this MASSIVE city at the base of it. Colorado Springs & Boulder are quite inviting too – I hope you get there soon!

    1. I absolutely love driving cross-country! If I could make it one day, I’d actually like to attempt one of those long and epic road trips that has me driving for days, and making pit stops in pleasant little towns and mom-and-pop diners. I bet it’s a breathtaking trip from Minnesota to Colorado! Oh man, Colorado Springs is beautiful…as per photographs I’ve seen, haha! But I can just imagine the beauty of the surroundings and how peaceful it could all get. Thanks—hopefully I’ll make that trip one of these days. I’m certain it would be fantastic!

      1. i know, right?? well, you decide to take off – give me a ring, and I’ll certainly join you! [your dream appears to be intermingled with one of my dreams!] really though – get the jerky and red bull; let’s drive!

  2. Ireland and Greece are on my bucket list too. :) Paris I’ve been to twice and I still want to go back. Come visit the Philippines if you get the chance. Best of luck to you wherever you decide to go, and happy travels!

    1. Thanks! And that’s so nice that you got to visit Paris more than once! I bet it was an amazing trip for sure. I’ve had friends visit there frequently and I’m always keen to see their photographs and ask them about it. I’m one of those individuals who has plastered portraits of the city in her house in hopes of attracting it soon, haha! But since I can remember, Ireland and Greece have always been on my dream travel list—they seem like such beautiful and enchanting destinations! I have a few friends from the Philippines so it would definitely be a place I’d love to check out one of these days too!

  3. hey there! i’m loving your recent posts!

    I also blogged about my recent travel for this year on my blog! What do you think of travelling alone? here’s what my recent post is all about…

    i woulde love to tour you around the philippines!

    would be so nice to hear from you! :)

    cheers! xx
    deanna

    1. Thanks Deanna! Glad you’ve been enjoying my posts. That’s a very sweet offer—thank you. I usually travel with family and friends, most of the time with my older sister. I’ve never really traveled alone. I like taking someone I know with me so I don’t feel homesick. And of course, traveling with someone you love is the most fun because you get to experience and share moments with them! That being said, perhaps one day an opportunity would arise for me to travel alone. I’ve had friends who’ve done it and backpacked Europe alone, so I’m sure it would be just as fun and exhilarating!

Leave a Reply [All Invalid Email Addresses Get Marked as Spam]

