6 Ways to Create Good Karma

karma-tiny-devos-16635

One of the greatest parts about my job is how introspective it can be. You see, with everything I’ve been through in the last few months, especially with matters of the heart, I’ve been able to really heal myself through writing. It is both a blessing and a sheer point of humility to be able to write about things that are personal, set them off into the Universe, relate to others and really learn from all that research. In keeping with what I recently learned on one of my last assignments, I am starting to understand the real value of karma and appreciate it so much more.

You see, I was hurt very badly by two selfish walking oddities—let’s call them Tom and Daisy, shall we? Living in their own world of denial and rose-colored glasses, the two of them carry on very weakly in their actions unaware of how it affects the ripples in this giant body of water we call a world. But, as my faith has shown and meditating has preached, forgiveness is the key. Forgiveness and letting go, of course. And by letting go, I actually mean being honest because honesty is the best policy. And as cliche as it sounds, the truth really will set you free. You see, I love Tom so very much but he wanted me to lie for him and carry the weight of his secrets. But it was becoming too heavy on my conscious and heart. I couldn’t take it anymore and it was like the beating heart in the floorboards.

After Daisy sent me several angry messages from her place of work and while on a trip in Illinois, I realized I had enough and had to set myself free from these chains of pain. I decided to let it all hang out and be honest. That is the number one way to generate positive karma in your own life—letting go and knowing that it’s not your load to deal with. If Tom wants to continue lying, then so be it. But it should mean Daisy needs to carry his weight for him, not me. Let Daisy suffer from his lies and shortcomings, not me. When researching on the topic of karma, I discovered the burden of secrets can weigh down not just mentally and emotionally, but physically and why risk myself for the sake of someone’s foolish deception? There is no point in life to hold such deep, dark secrets that only hurt those that matter to you. If this long chapter of love has taught me anything, it’s to be honest with those you love because lying gets you nowhere. In fact, lying creates an incredible amount of distrust and doubt and why suffer through that? Especially if someone pretends to care for those around him, but is actually an incredibly selfish and careless individual—why even choose to accept the lies? These types of people who lie and those who accept it as a form of denial will reap what they sow, quite literally.

In keeping with my latest piece for Womanista, I present to you, “6 Ways to Create Good Karma.”

Womanista | 6 Ways to Create Good Karma

Often misunderstood as some hippie buzzword, “karma” is one of the oldest Buddhist philosophies and reaches far beyond Eastern beliefs. Simply put, karma is the sum of a person’s intentional words, actions, and thoughts, meaning you get what you give in life whether it’s good or bad. The consequences of these intentions are spontaneous, natural and instant. The attitude we portray to others comes back to us with the same energy.
Since fate is never truly set because of free will, life gives you chances to better yourself. If you can explore your actions and attitudes through positive intention, you can effectively alter your outlook to create good karma for rich life experiences.
BE HONEST
Always be honest with others and yourself — even if it means you might get embarrassed. When people lie, the lie returns and most often comes back tenfold. It might seem impossible to live a life without lying (especially when we talk to our kids about the Easter Bunny or Santa Claus), but through a greater aspect of intention, karma means taking responsibility for every word and action we verbalize. Being dishonest hurts no one but yourself.
Continue reading at Womanista!
Leave a Reply [All Invalid Email Addresses Get Marked as Spam]

