What a wicked way to treat the girl that loves you

I’ve never really been a huge listener of Beyoncé’s music, but her album “Lemonade” is seriously everything I never knew I wanted. It is so raw and in many ways, empowering to the hurt woman who only ever opened up her heart most innately to love someone, the unfound man, she felt was deserving because he was “her person.”

That said, I think there’s a lot to be said about the value and power of art in any form. Months ago, I was told by someone who I’ll call out as a nitwit bungle to stop writing about my heartache and broken heart and yada, yada, blah, blah. However, I never listened—obviously—because well, I’m a journalist and it’s my First Amendment right in this country. And secondly, I’m allowed as a woman to not only heal however I wish through my choices (the same way nitwit bungle decides to heal her own way, ie. rug sweeper), but feel empowered through them as I venture alone on this path of a broken heart. This life is a shared one, no matter how you look at it. We’re all in it together, through every choice, through every judgment, through every moment shared with one another, intimate, physical, fucking all of it—no one is a real loner when it comes to life. Three might be a crowd, but it took the initial two to make it so.

While I won’t dive in further to draw parallels to the heartache I’ve experienced at the hands of someone I loved deeply, this album is amazing and a very cathartic record for those left brokenhearted. No one knows what Beyoncé really went through to write and produce this record and how hard it must have been for her personally to dive into such emotions, but I can tell it was difficult and equally rewarding. It takes a big heart and a strong woman to be that vulnerable and open about something so many people sweep under the rug due to fear of societal norms and taboos. And trust me, a lot of people sweep such behavior like cheating that Beyoncé’s pointed out about her husband, Jay-Z under the rug in hopes of continuing their rose-colored glasses existence with pets named off of Alice and Wonderland characters (like, sweet Dinah). Why, even some choose to brush it over with more vacations or ooh, let’s have a baby to show everyone we’re fine! 

The lyrics are full of punch and just so gritty and reminiscent of clenched teeth and fists, but also maintain a quiet and clever honesty that is sharp-tongued. Yet, it’s sad too. Heartbreaking even. But that’s what life is, right? We meet people, we fall in love, head over heels, spend time with them, get to know them and really get to know them, you know? As someone told me once in a cold tone, “endings are tough.” Well at the end of the record, listening to all of it and digesting this cathartic form of art, it’s sad and kind of a preamble for grace and strength for any woman in Beyoncé’s shoes who ever felt betrayed no matter who they are.

Have you heard the album? What’s your favorite track?

{Image Credit: Cosmopolitan}
4 comments

    1. It’s great! I think you’ll really like it. When you get around to listening, let me know what your favorites are. I keep swinging between “Don’t Hurt Yourself” and “Freedom.” Of course, there are others…it seriously alternates by mood, haha!

Leave a Reply [All Invalid Email Addresses Get Marked as Spam]

